Begin With A Consultation Today: 813-314-7231

What is the maximum sentence for burglary in Florida?

Burglary accusations are not a uniform thing. Rather, each particular case has its own specific details regarding what exactly the suspect is accused of and what circumstances are claimed to have surrounded the alleged crime. These details can be incredibly impactful for individuals accused of burglary here in Florida. For one, they could affect what kind of prison sentence the suspect could be facing if they are convicted of the crime they are accused of.

This is because the details of the burglary allegations leveled against a suspect impact which degree of felony the crime they are accused of would fall under. There are three felony degrees burglary crimes can fall under: first, second and third. Which degree a burglary suspect is accused of has major ramifications for what sorts of consequences being convicted would have for them. For one, each degree has a different maximum prison sentence attached to it. The maximum sentences for burglary are:

  • Life for a first degree felony.
  • 15 years for a second degree felony.
  • Five years for a third degree felony.

What maximum fine a person convicted of burglary could face also depends on which felony degree they were convicted under. The maximum fine for a first degree or second degree offense is $10,000. Meanwhile, a third degree felony offense carries a maximum fine of $5,000.

As this illustrates, what exact legal situation a person accused of burglary is in depends heavily on their specific circumstances, including the nature of the allegations brought against them. So, these circumstances can heavily impact what the answers to many of the questions they may have regarding their case and their defense would be. Making incorrect assumptions regarding what these answers are could open the door to a suspect making life-altering mistakes or missteps during their case. So, taking questions they have about their case to a skilled criminal defense attorney can be critical for Floridians accused of burglary.

Source: FindLaw, “Florida Burglary Laws,” Accessed Aug. 3, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Contact The Office

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Review Us

The Law Office Of Cheyenne Whitfield, P.A.

Firm Location:

Contact the Firm:

The Law Office of Cheyenne Whitfield, P.A.
1106 North Parsons Avenue
Suite 101
Brandon, FL 33510

Phone: 813-314-7231
Fax: 813-677-1822
Map & Directions